Song of the Day: January 14, 2013

Me First and the Gimme Gimmes- Wild World

Setting: Hour three of a five hour car ride between me and my dad [NOTE: My Dad is the one who steered me towards punk music years ago when he got me the Dead Kennedys classic debut Fresh Fruit for Rotting Vegetables as a stocking stuffer. I was exposed to the song “Kill the Poor” at a young age.] I’m playing DJ with my ipod and have been playing Me First, a great punk rock supergroup/cover band for the past couple of songs, half for the music and half to see my Dad’s reaction as he recognizes which classic is getting simultaneously blasphemed and improved.

Spike (lead singer of Me First): “Now that I’ve lost everything to you, you say you want to start something new….”

Dad: [maniacal laughter]

[grins ear to ear]

[drives considerably faster]

[nods head vigorously to beat]

Dogs in the backseat (looking at one another): What the fuck is this?

Spike: “Ooooooh, baby baby its a wild world!”

Dad (yelling to be heard over the blaring guitars): “This kicks the shit out of that original Cat Stevens hippie bullshit!”

[End Scene]

Yes it does, Dad. Yes it does.

Leave a Reply

